Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Caleb's Top Five Songs...

Angel - Aerosmith
I Need You Now - Firehouse
I Wanna Take Forever Tonight - Peter Cetera?
Thank You For Loving Me - Bon Jovi
Bed of Roses - Bon Jovi

(parent's note...The first rip of "Angel" can calm him down...if not that first rip, at least by the end of the song. It's magical. If we lose or break this cd, we're dead. In fact, we better download the songs just in case.)

Monday, January 26, 2009





Reading is not my favorite pasttime yet...Mommy tries to force it, but usually I just start fussing...I do kind of like my little Leap frog that sings the ABCs...when I feel like it...




Here's a series of pics showing me with some of my rare calm, peaceful, happy moments in my colicky life...

Friday, January 23, 2009





#1 - Daddy's animatedly singing to me from my Rock Luv cd.

#2 - I'm nearly too big for my bassinet...and I'm not even 2 months old yet!!!

#3 - Check out my sideburns!!!!

#4 - Showing shaka like Obama!!!

Wednesday, January 21, 2009





Pic #1 and #2 - I'm a big boy on my Boppy, holding my head up!!

Pic #3 - Look at my smile...:-)

Pic #4 - "I got the whole world...on my back...dammit, Daddy, what you doing to me???"

Sunday, January 18, 2009




Pic #1 - Tummy sleeping on the quilt Gramma Rose made for Mommy and Daddy.

Pic #2 - Sleeping on Mommy.

Pic #3 - Stupid Swaddle Me blanket...I'm getting too big for my bassinet!!!





Pic #1 - Grandpa and Grandma Colmenares

Pic #2 & 3 - Daddy's "clever" way to hold my pacifier in my mouth.

Pic #4 - The way I like to be held sometime so I can stare at the ceiling fan and shadows on the ceiling.

Pic #5 - This is a baby pic of Daddy and Uncle Serafin...we think I look like Daddy...
I HATE being swaddled. I HATE not having my arms free. I HATE sleeping on my back. I HATE when my diaper leaks and gets shishi on my clothes. I HATE when I sleep for a long time, get up and want to look around, and people think I should go to sleep. I HATE that the nipple only lets out one measly drip at a time when I'm hungry. I HATE when I'm so hungry that I start slurping and dribble milk all down my chin. I HATE when Mommy and Daddy don't understand what to do to make me comfortable. I HATE when they laugh when I'm crying. I HATE when I'm sleeping and I grab my own hair and pull and make myself cry. I HATE when Mommy and Daddy spit on my face when they're making this sh-sh-sh sounds, especially when they have morning breath.

Friday, January 16, 2009

No new pics today...Mommy just didn't upload any new ones yet...

Last night I slept and behaved like a champ!!! Went to bed at 11:45, got up at 5:00 a.m.!!!!!! Mommy and Daddy put me on their bed, on my tummy, and Mommy got up every so often to check on me. Since I startle so much, they found that sleeping on my tummy gives me a longer, more restful sleep. They watched me nap like that several times, then decided to try it at night. It wasn't a very restful sleep for Mommy because she was so paranoid that I would bury my face in the bed, but I didn't! We all slept horizontally instead of vertically on the bed so that I would have more room...it wasn't comfortable for Daddy, whose legs were hanging off the bed, but he can sleep in any position so it was okay.

Tonight they moved my bassinet right next to Mommy's side of the bed and are going to sleep me on my tummy in there. We know it's not the "correct" way to sleep, but I love it a lot more.

Today I made my first stink fut. Mommy was carrying me and she thought that I must have made doodoo because it was so stink...but she checked my diaper, and no doodoo! This is the first time they smelled a stink fut out of me.

I am now going 3 hours between feedings during the day. Doctor said if I was eating 3 oz every 1 1/2 to 2 hours then that was kind of plenty (which is why I'm a big boy!). So now my parents know that every little whimper does not mean "feed me." Yesterday I had 25.5 oz, today so far I have had 21 oz....hmmm...maybe that's not enough. We'll have to see how I do tonight. My parents see a pattern...good one night, not good the next...

Wednesday, January 14, 2009



I weight 11 lbs 8 ozs and am 23 in long now! I'm in the 95th percentile for height, 75th for weight, and still 50th for head size! I gained 2 lbs in 2 weeks...that's nutts. And 1 in in 2 weeks...dang! No wonder Mommy has a hard time lifting me out of the bassinet. Dr. said my height is average for a 2-month old. I dunno how I got to be so big...Mommy's a midget and Daddy isn't that big...

Here's some pics of me...I got a bath today and I got to put on "nice" clothes...

Tuesday, January 13, 2009





Pic #1 - this is what i look like when i'm going nutts

Pic #2 - dad realized the camera was on him....

Pic #3 - dad feeding me...

Pic #4 - if only i would be this peaceful all the time

As you can see, Mom and Dad have all the baby books...but they still can't figure me out! I'm a mystery...last night was another rough night as I proceeded to be a fuss bucket all night long...at my 1 a.m. feeding I fussed, but ate...at my 4 a.m. feeding, I fussed, yelled, wailed, held my breath for a super long time, and didn't eat...for an hour or so!

Tomorrow we're going for my ONE MONTH check up! Time flies when you're having fun making parents crazy!!! They think this is bad...they just better wait until I'm walking, talking, and throwing fits! :-)

Friday, January 9, 2009





Photo #1 - I can hold my own bottle!! LOL...lazy Mommy and Daddy.

Photo #2 - Enjoying my new swing...thanks to Aunty Leisha and Uncle Mark for picking it up...thanks to Aunty Terri Ann for loaning it to me!!!

Photo #3 - We aren't sure who gave us this shirt but it sure is cute...I dunno if it's true, though...

Photo #4 - Dad insists that this carrying position helps me fut...

Last night I slept for FOUR hours...probably because Mom and Dad were holding me on their chests. I think I like sleeping on my tummy, but my parents are too scared to have me sleep that way except if I'm on them.

I have lots of nightmares or something...I'll be sleeping and I'll wake myself up fully, usually crying, and I'll often startle myself and throw my hands up in the air.

I had another bath today...I get stink fast. And my beautiful hair needs to be washed a lot because I get oily, sweaty head.

I make a lot of noise...I make high pitched, kitten noises a lot, even when I'm sleeping. And I fut choke...I fut more than I burp.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

I'm a cry baby...


Well, this early morning was interesting.....
I woke up around 1:50AM and I was wondering why it was so quiet. So I decided to wake everyone up by doing the only thing I know best...cry...loud...real loud.
I was yelling at the top of my lungs and holding my breath till I was red in the face. Daddy timed me...it was about 6-7 seconds. Yeah, I can hold a note.
Mommy and Daddy were pretty much up all night (actually early morning) trying to calm me down. They tried everything...swaddling, feeding, bouncing, burping, changing diapers. I think the only thing that worked was me tiring myself out after a couple of hours. I would yell, then stop for a bit, fall asleep, then wake up and start the whole cycle again. Mommy eventually put me on top of Daddy to go in a deep sleep...
I feel bad for putting my parents through this...I'll try my best not to do it again.

Sunday, January 4, 2009




New pics of me!!! Top two...see how my looks have changed since birth?? Bottom one...isn't this a cute shirt!!! See my spiky hair!! Gramma thinks I look cute with spikes. BTW, thanks, Aunty Leisha, for the Boppy cuz it's the best, most wonderful invention for babies and mommies!!!



Here's our family photo...Mom might make it into a card, but we'll see cuz the resolution of the picture is pretty bad. Mom likes the top one, Dad likes the bottom. He says the bottom one reminds him of the Jon and Kate picture on their Multiple Blessings book cover...the bottom one actually hides Mom's tummy in the shadow, so maybe she WILL choose that one! Lol.

I no longer fit into newborn onesies. Dad and Gramma tried to put me in one and it looked like I was trying to compete in a tight t-shirt contest. Gramma retired those from my drawer...that's what happens when I'm born bigger than a newborn size!!

Friday, January 2, 2009




Don't worry, Dad isn't choking me...he's just burping me. (It actually goes in reverse order...bottom pic first.) I'm a gassy little boy...I burp and fut a LOT...especially fut! Mommy and Daddy can tell when the fut has doodoo cuz then it's juicy.

I have two more packs of newborn diapers so I better hurry up and use them cuz the elastic is cutting into my legs already.

Thursday, January 1, 2009


Happy New Year!!!! Today all I've done is sleep...get up, eat, get my diaper changed, then sleep some more. Sometimes I want just a little bit of milk (2 oz), but other times I wake up famished and want a whole 4 oz.

The top picture is me and Gramma...the bottom picture is Mommy's legs, which makes a perfect resting spot when she puts them up on her exercise ball and puts a pillow for me...my large body covers pretty much the entire length of her legs.

Last night I did really good...I woke up only a few times, ate, then went back to sleep. I let Mommy and Daddy sleep for at least two hours at a time!





I'm welcoming in 2009...by eating a whole lot and sleeping even more...

We went to Grandpa and Grandma Colmenares' house for my first outing...Mom and Dad were kind of worried to have me around people, but it was okay. I slept for the whole time and we were home well before the firework craziness started. Mom and Dad closed up all the windows so the smoky air doesn't affect me.

Here's some new pics...see how nice and FAT I'm getting?! We looked at some pics of Daddy when he was younger...I look like him except for my nose and eyebrows. Mommy is still hoping that my eyes will get lighter like hers and that I'll have a dimple when I smile...